Perfect binding: What you need to know

For many printers, perfect binding is now a key component of their business. If you have a perfect-bound job to complete, or are looking at purchasing a perfect-bind machine, you should understand the basics.

What is perfect binding?

Perfect binding is the process where either flat sheets or signatures (a sheet with multiple pages printed on it) are bound together using a flexible adhesive with a wrap-around cover that creates a square-shaped spine.

The equipment

The equipment can range from small tabletop machines to million-dollar systems. With the increase in on-demand bookbinding, dozens of affordable machines are now available that include many of the features found previously only on high-production machines.

Perfect binding machines have one common element – a glue applicator. Almost all hot-melt machines use a contact roller or multiple rollers to apply the glue to the spine of book blocks. Then a cover is pinched around the spine and held in place for up to 10 seconds to allow the glue to set. The amount of glue being applied is adjustable. More advanced machines will also apply a side glue to the edges of the book block before adding a cover. Side gluing is important because it binds the edge of the cover to the side of the book block (scored hinge area), allowing the book to open and close properly. This helps to prevent the spine lining and the book’s end sheets from becoming partially unglued from the cover.

In order for the glue to have maximum adhesion, most commercial-grade perfect binders have a grinding wheel that grinds notches into the spine of the book block anywhere from 1-3 mm deep. This allows the glue to flow up into the spine to obtain maximum adhesion. Smaller perfect binders require the operator to place the covers in position, while more automated binders have integrated cover feeders that automatically feed the next cover into position.

The paper and grain direction

The cover and the interior stock should not be more than 100 GSM apart. Although it’s common to attempt to create a feel of quality with a heavier cover stock, this must also be accompanied by a heavier interior book block stock. Grain direction is the final alignment of the paper fibres during the manufacturing process. In perfect binding it’s essential that the grain runs in the same direction or parallel to the spine of the book. If it doesn’t, the book will not open and lay flat correctly, and the additional pressure placed on the spine will increase the chances of warping, sheets falling out – or worse, complete sections of the book block separating.

The glue

Hot-melt EVA (Ethylene Vinyl Acetate) glues have long been the staple of the small commercial bookbinder. They’re inexpensive and can be left in the machine and reheated at any time, making them the choice for almost all small-format perfect binders under six pockets. The main limitation to these hot melt glues is their inability to bind some digitally printed and coated stocks reliably. Due to the rapid set-up speed (five to eight seconds), it’s difficult for the glue to penetrate into the fibres of these stocks because the coating or toner acts as a barrier. Without proper penetration into and between the sheets, a perfect-bound book will have a limited ability to stay together. A cold glue or PUR (Polyurethane Reactive Adhesive) adhesive will solve this problem.

Although more expensive, PUR is becoming increasingly popular in binding coated stocks and digitally produced toner output. PUR is different from EVA glues in that it’s dispensed through an applicator head instead of being applied through a traditional roller. This applicator allows the glue to be forced up into the book block (with pressure from a heavy-duty pump) penetrating the spine and creating a much stronger bind. It also prevents the escape of fumes and any premature moisture curing of the PUR adhesive by exposing it to the atmosphere. PUR binding, however, requires up to 24 hours to completely cure.

A third type of adhesive PVA (Polyvinyl Acetate) is applied as a cold liquid with a look and viscosity similar to ordinary white glue. Being cold, the glue has a much longer drying time, allowing it to absorb into the fibres of the paper, facilitating the binding of both heavier and coated-paper stocks. PVA’s are more difficult to apply and consistent chemistry is needed for consistent results. As a result, only large binding lines currently use this adhesive.

对于许多打印机而言,完美装订现在是其业务的关键组成部分。如果你有一个完美的工作要完成,或者正在考虑购买一台完美绑定的机器,你应该了解基础知识。
什么是完美的装订?
完美装订是指使用柔性粘合剂将平板或签名(其上印有多页的纸张)捆绑在一起的过程,该粘合剂具有形成方形脊柱的环绕式覆盖物。
设备
该设备的范围从小型桌面机到百万美元的系统。随着按需装订的增加,现在有数十种经济实惠的机器可供使用,其中包括以前仅在高产机器上发现的许多功能。
完美的装订机有一个共同的元素 - 涂胶器。几乎所有的热熔机都使用接触辊或多个辊子将胶水涂在书芯的书脊上。然后将一个盖子夹在脊柱周围并保持在适当位置长达10秒钟以使胶水凝固。施加的胶量是可调节的。在添加封面之前,更先进的机器也会在书芯的边缘涂上侧胶。侧面粘合很重要,因为它将盖子的边缘绑定到书芯的侧面(刻划的铰链区域),允许书籍正确打开和关闭。这有助于防止书脊衬里和书籍的端板从盖子上部分脱胶。
为了使胶水具有最大的附着力,大多数商业级的完美粘合剂都有一个砂轮,可以在1-3毫米深的任何地方将槽口研磨到书芯的书脊中。这允许胶水流入脊柱以获得最大粘附力。较小的完美粘合剂需要操作员将盖子放置到位,而更自动化的粘合剂具有集成的盖子送料器,自动将下一个盖子送入到位。
纸和方向
盖子和内部库存不应超过100 GSM。虽然尝试用较重的覆盖物来创造质量感是常见的,但这也必须伴随着较重的内部书芯库存。晶粒方向是制造过程中纸纤维的最终排列。在完美的装订中,必须使谷物沿着与书脊相同的方向或平行于书脊。如果没有,书本将无法打开并正确平放,并且对书脊施加的额外压力将增加翘曲的机会,纸张掉落 - 或者更糟糕的是,书块的完整部分分离。
胶水
热熔EVA(乙烯醋酸乙烯酯)胶水长期以来一直是小型商用装订机的主要产品。它们价格便宜,可以留在机器中并随时重新加热,使它们成为六口袋下几乎所有小型完美粘合剂的选择。这些热熔胶的主要限制是它们不能可靠地粘合一些数字印刷和涂层的原料。由于快速的设置速度(5到8秒),胶水难以渗透到这些原料的纤维中,因为涂层或墨粉充当屏障。没有适当地渗透到纸张之间和纸张之间,完美装订的书籍将具有有限的保持在一起的能力。冷胶或PUR(聚氨酯活性粘合剂)粘合剂将解决这个问题。
虽然更昂贵,但PUR在粘合涂层纸和数字生产的碳粉输出中变得越来越流行。 PUR与EVA胶水的不同之处在于它通过涂抹头分配而不是通过传统的辊子涂抹。该涂抹器允许胶水被迫向上进入书芯(来自重型泵的压力)穿透脊柱并产生更强的粘合。它还通过将PUR粘合剂暴露在大气中来防止烟雾逸出和任何过早湿气固化。然而,PUR结合需要长达24小时才能完全固化。
第三种类型的粘合剂PVA(聚乙酸乙烯酯)作为冷液体施用,其外观和粘度类似于普通白胶。由于冷却,胶水具有更长的干燥时间,使其能够吸收到纸张纤维中,从而促进较重和涂布纸料的粘合。 PVA更难以应用,并且需要一致的化学来获得一致的结果。结果,目前只有大的绑定线使用这种粘合剂。