Perfect binding is our preferred method of binding for publications over around 64 pages.
 
Perfect binding is a method of bookbinding where a flexible adhesive (ethylene vinyl acetate [EVA] adhesives) attaches a thick card cover to the spine of the collated, assembled pages.
 
Perfect binding puts all the pages together in a “book block”, roughens and flattens the edge, then a flexible adhesive attaches the paper cover to the spine. The book is then trimmed on three edges to provide a “perfect” finish. Paperback novels are one example of perfect binding.
 
Perfect binding, for us, involves printing books as collated sets (something that is possible with digital printing, but not traditional litho or offset printing). We print these usually four up or two up, and guillotine them into book blocks
 
Booklets, telephone directories, and some magazines use perfect binding methods. Compared to other binding methods, perfect binding is quite durable and has a low to medium cost. It can be used with publications that are several inches thick.
 
Perfect binding is by far our most common binding method. It is always used for books over about 64 pages, but can be used for publications as low as about twelve pages — it is often used for children’s books that may be around 36 to 48 pages, and often A4 landscape.
 
Case binding
 
You can choose to have your book with a custom hand crafted hard cover binding. You get a genuine, top quality, hand crafted hard bound book with buckram (very heavy cloth) bound onto a heavy card. The buckram can be virtually any colour. Books are sewn in the spine and glued. They have end papers glued on the inside covers. They also have head bands (small velvet like bands at the top and bottom of the spine). In other words, they are almost indestructible! Books can have gold or silver lettering on the cover and on the spine.
 
Here are the main case binding options.
 •Plain coloured buckram (most colours are available) with or without gold or silver embossed lettering on the cover and / or the spine.
 •A ‘pasted down’ cover which is a printed, laminated cover that is adhered to the thick board that makes the hard cover hard. This covers the entire book — front, back and spine — and folds over into the inside covers. This replaces the buckram cover.
 •Either of the above, with a dust jacket — a very long sheet printed on one side, usually celloglazed to protect it, that folds all the way around the book with a flap of about 100mm or more that folds into the inside covers.
 
Case binding looks great, but in practice few short run self-published books are case bound because of the cost. Most case binding these days is done in Asia as the price advantages are overwhelming. However case binding is Asia is uneconomical below around 500 copies. We are able to case bind small quantities, but what we do is completely had crafted and therefore comparatively expensive.

完美绑定是我们首选的约64页的出版物绑定方法。
 
完美装订是一种装订方法,其中柔性粘合剂(乙烯醋酸乙烯酯[EVA]粘合剂)将厚卡片盖附着到整理的组装页面的书脊上。
 
完美装订将所有页面放在“书芯”中,粗糙并使边缘变平,然后使用柔性粘合剂将纸盖连接到书脊。然后将书籍修剪成三个边缘,以提供“完美”的效果。平装小说是完美装订的一个例子。
 
对于我们来说,完美的装订涉及将书籍打印为整理装置(这可以通过数字印刷,但不是传统的平版印刷或胶版印刷)。我们打印这些通常是四个或两个,并将它们分成书芯
 
小册子,电话簿和一些杂志使用完美的绑定方法。与其他结合方法相比,完美结合非常耐用并且具有低至中等成本。它可以用于几英寸厚的出版物。
 
完美绑定是迄今为止我们最常用的绑定方法。它总是用于超过64页的书籍,但可用于低至约12页的出版物 - 它通常用于儿童书籍,可能约36至48页,通常是A4风景。
 
案例绑定
 
您可以选择使用自定义手工制作的硬封面装订书。你会得到一张真正的,高质量的,手工制作的硬书,用厚重的卡片装在一张重卡上。巴克拉姆几乎可以是任何颜色。书籍缝在脊椎上并粘上。它们的末端纸粘在内盖上。它们还有头带(脊柱顶部和底部的小天鹅绒状带)。换句话说,它们几乎是坚不可摧的!书籍的封面和书脊上都有金色或银色的字样。
 
以下是主要的案例绑定选项。
 •普通彩色buckram(大多数颜色可供选择),在封面和/或脊柱上有或没有金色或银色浮雕字样。
 •“粘贴”封面,是一种印刷的层压封面,粘贴在厚板上,使硬封面变硬。这涵盖了整本书 - 正面,背面和书脊 - 并折叠到内盖。这取代了巴克拉罩。
 •上述任何一种,带有防尘套 - 一面印有一张很长的纸,通常用细胞胶片保护它,在书的周围折叠一个约100毫米或更大的折叠,折叠成内盖。
 
案例绑定看起来很棒,但在实践中,由于成本的原因,很少有短期自行出版的书籍受到限制。由于价格优势势不可挡,这些天大多数案件的约束都是在亚洲完成的。但是,在大约500份以下,亚洲的案件约束是不经济的。我们能够小批量绑定,但我们所做的是完全制作,因此相对昂贵。